How to update properly

Hello… I’m new with OpenMandriva and trying to understand, I"ve been updating only with dnf as I read here in the forums, but as Discover is used for update notifications it seems after doing dnf --refresh distro-sync Discover shows more updates available and when clicked it installs them. Sorry to be such a newbie but is this correct ?

Welcome to the OpenMandriva forum @mlayland.

General user info: If you or any users believes there is a bug please report those here. You or any user may also talk directly to OpenMandriva developers and other contributors at OpenMandriva Chat.
There is information and tutorials in the English forum Resources section and in OM Wiki. As a Community distribution of Linux we depend on community members to help solve issues and make things better in OMLx.
OpenMandriva consists of a small group of all volunteer, unpaid, part-time, developers and other contributors. There are no employees.

Thank you for the reply Ben… But I’ve no idea if I’m missing something and it should work this way or not. Looking just for guidance at this point.

A follow up question. I’m also having trouble installing TeamViewer have you ever tried that one ? It says I’m missing libminizip.so.1 and nothing will supply it.

I appreciate your help and guidance.

Hello @mlayland
As you may have read already Discover and dnfdragora are not reliable for ROME and Cooker updates as they use ‘update’ command instead of ‘distro-sync’.
I’d suggest to ignore what Discover notifies as what it ‘assumes’ is wrong by design.

1 Like

This standard recommendation applies to all versions of OpenMandriva Lx. Current versions are:

• Cooker (development branch for people that like dealing with problems.)
  • ROME the new rolling release of OMLx (best choice for most users)
  • Rock the release for servers and folks that do not like much change (infrequent updates)