What to do about Contrib repo?

In yesterdays TC-Meeting there was discussion about what, if anything, to do about Contrib repo. Even though I did express opinion and make a suggestion or two, I’m not locked in to any position yet.

For one thing I’m not a developer. Looking at this from a user perspective I see nothing wrong with Contrib except that it appears to have a huge number of packages that don’t work. But I know of no packages that I give a flip about that don’t work at the moment so it isn’t really a problem for me as a user.

So I thought to back up and ask 2 critical problem solving type questions we use in business. Basically I’m asking developers and package maintainers to answer these questions and thus begin the discussion of what to do about Contrib or to leave it as is.

1. What is/are the problems with Contrib repo?

2. Why are these issues a problem?

It is probably common knowledge that some people, AFAIK devs and maintainers, have been complaining about Contrib, AFAIK, going back to Mandriva days. I suspect answers to the above simple questions would lead to what, if anything to do about this.

1 Like

Contrib repository is somewhat abandoned.
In Main we have 7,5k of projects, and we do not have sufficent man power to handle that amout of packages.
Contrib has extra 8,3k of projects.

Even if contrib mass rebuild happens, there will be like 60% of failed packages. That means someone needs to fix them. Any volunteers ?

Now do the math. It took like two years till now, to get in shape for main repository for 4-5 active developers.

2 Likes

If contrib is in bad shape, maybe we should un-activate it?

What is the need for contrib repo (i mean, before it made sense for Mandriva official packages, and community packages, but today we all are community right?

Or maybe we need to push alternative repos for people wanting to maintain their set of packages - if they exist? (I mean the personal repos in ABF)

1 Like