OpenMandriva LX3 Beta 1 will not co-exist with Linux Mint

Hi, I am new to this so hope it is in order. I used Mandriva about 10years ago but fell out with it & have been mainly using Mint since then. Saw your new Beta on Distrowatch and thought I would give it another try. It downloaded and installed just fine, and my old Brother printer scanner set up really easily. What I saw I liked but with it being a Beta I was not going to use it as my main OS. I logged off and tried to open my Linux Mint OS but it came up with a message "$HOME/.dmrc file has incorrect permissions and is being ignored. … file sould be " “owned by user and have 644 permissions. .”. I Googled and found how to sort that and got Mint up and running again, then went to retry Mandriva but it went past the boot screen and then froze. I rechecked Mint but that was fine.

I decided to totally reinstall Mandriva and once again it all went well and it worked fine, printer worked etc. Once again I went to restart Linux Mint and got the same message as before. I reset the permissions for my Home folder again, and Mint was back up & running. I later went to have another look a Mandriva, and once again it freezes. It was at this point that I realized that is must be something in the Mandriva set-up that is changing the ownership of my home folder files. It has never happened to me before and I do quite frequently try different Linux OSs.

hi and welcome

if I well understand you have a shared /home (if not, take no account of the following)

just an idea, maybe it’s a GID,UID problem. try in your home with OMV and MINT : ls -ln like this

`
drwxr-xr-x 2 1001 1005 4096 avril 7 14:49 Bureau
drwxr-xr-x 3 1001 1005 4096 avril 9 19:59 Documents
drwxr-xr-x 3 1001 1005 4096 avril 8 10:03 Images
drwxrwxr-x 2 1001 1005 4096 avril 7 07:47 logs
drwxr-xr-x 2 1001 1005 4096 avril 7 07:29 Modèles
drwxr-xr-x 2 1001 1005 4096 avril 7 07:29 Musique
drwxrwxr-x 2 1001 1005 4096 avril 9 19:58 omlx3_three