Memory Issue

Heya all,

Peter again :slight_smile: Quick consultation if anyone has tips about memory management. I’m currently using OM 5.x Rock as my main box with my MacBook Air Intel from 2020 :slight_smile:

I’ve been using it daily since the November, 2023. :metal:

Since a few weeks I got some issues with chromekits-web browsers freezing and then self-closing. Today after checking the logs, it looks like I’m out of memory…

janv. 09 16:27:08 concorde kernel: [  30522]     0 30522     4159      192    73728        0             0 systemd-userwor
janv. 09 16:27:08 concorde kernel: oom-kill:constraint=CONSTRAINT_NONE,nodemask=(null),cpuset=/,mems_allowed=0,global_oom,task_memcg=/user.slice/user-1001.slice/user@1001.service/session.slice/plasma-plasmashell.service,task=brave,pid>
janv. 09 16:27:08 concorde kernel: Out of memory: Killed process 25329 (brave) total-vm:1191043136kB, anon-rss:854992kB, file-rss:256kB, shmem-rss:40400kB, UID:1001 pgtables:3140kB oom_score_adj:300
janv. 09 16:27:08 concorde kernel: Purging GPU memory, 0 pages freed, 0 pages still pinned, 5248 pages left available.
janv. 09 16:27:08 concorde kernel: Purging GPU memory, 0 pages freed, 0 pages still pinned, 5248 pages left available.

I use typically a dozen of tabs while working as a web developer. I tried to enable memory saver features, or tabs saver addons but didn’t help. Remove addons or custom ffmpeg stuff, tested edge, opera, brave, … doesn’t seem to change.

I guess it’s related to my hardware. Classic install with 8G if RAM, swap size is 4Gb and I guess 1G for the shared GPU. I got a least a tab with Slack, Task manager (Monday or Backlog) and a few “heavy” stuff but even with no video / media playing it’s crashing after a few hours of use.

Any help or feedback is welcome.

Cheers and may the mandrake force be with you :bell_pepper:

Open htop in Konsole (terminal) and see what is using to much memory. Then see if it is something that is fixable.